Opportvnvs Adest: The Anatomy of a Story. Part I

I have been asked by more than one person how did I come up with the name Opportvnvs Adest for a book series.

I first got the idea years ago when I read about a mysterious coin dated 1680 from France. One side looks like a like a flying saucer in the clouds over landscape, while the other side displays rainfall on a tree.

The coin has been studied over years but there has been nothing definite that experts can agree on. Some believe the coin represents a UFO sighting and others have speculated it is a representation of Ezekiel’s Wheel in the bible.

Kenneth E. Bressett of Colorado Springs, Colorado, a former President of the 32,000-member American Numismatic Association and owner of the curious coin has this to say:
“Is it supposed to be a UFO of some sort, or a symbolic representation of the Biblical Ezekiel’s wheel? After 50 years of searching, I’ve heard of only one other example of it, and nothing to explain the unusual design.”

The debate rages on.

cropped-oa-coin-3.jpg

For me, I decided to embrace the possibility that the coin was created for what people in those days saw in the sky. A flying saucer. The other side with the water on the tree I took as representing growth.

Combining those two theories gave me this thought: What if there is sophisticated life in outer space? And these beings have been visiting our planet since the dawn of man. It would stand to reason these same beings would be benevolent and help us from time to time. Giving us nudges towards greater advancement in science, medicine, engineering, etc.

What is written around the rim of the coin is ‘OPPORTVNVS ADEST’ This translates from Latin to ‘It is here at an opportune time.’

A race of beings coming to Earth to provide guidance when we need them.

My mind started racing and then I thought: If they are helping us, there has to be an end game. Perhaps they want us to come to them. To join them. To be a part of a collective.

A group of planets sending representatives down at various points to gently push Earth to the stars.

I had my story.

Stay tuned for Part II

In the meantime, I would love to hear from anyone who has ever looked up in the sky and thought we are not alone.

Leave a Reply

