Opportvnvs Adest: The Anatomy of a Story. Part III

Thanks for coming.

Part II left off with me saying I would explain how I mixed science fiction with the bible.

So I will get right to it.

I was raised a Catholic and spent the first 12 years of my academic career attending Parochial schools. As a young boy I questioned many of the things put forth to me in school and in church. I thought why God would only create us and not others. Surely the rest of the universe is there for a reason. I wondered if there are other inhabited worlds, did Jesus come to those planets too.

I had so many questions and as I got older, I found other free, open minded thinkers like myself. Especially in college where a group of my friends and I would stay up all night trying to solve the riddles of the universe.

Fast forward to present day.

I took my extensive knowledge of the bible and started crafting my tale. My concept would be everything we have read in the bible did not happen as it was written. Stories like Adam & Eve, the Great Flood, Moses, Creation, etc. were altered so we as a simple people could understand them and not be afraid.

Perhaps some of the stories never happened at all.

A few people who have already picked up the book contacted and me wondering if this concept may be too controversial. I will tell you what I told them and what I will tell others at my next book signing. I am not attempting to debunk the bible. My story is a what if tale (fans of Marvel comics know all about this) using science fiction to explain the most popular, most debated book in history.

Let me give you all some things to think about for a moment.

In nearly every mythology, you have the tale of creation, a flood, an apocalypse, and an all-powerful being sending his favorite son to Earth and walk among. Keep in mind, these stories came out BEFORE the bible.

Is it a coincidence or does that fact truly mean something?

The Bible took over 1500 years and 40 authors complete it. Unlike many religious writings, the Bible reads as a factual news account of real events, places, and people. Historians and archaeologists have repeatedly confirmed its authenticity though centuries of research and artifacts.

The Council of Nicaea in AD 325 saw the Roman Emperor Caesar Flavius Constantine gather a group of church leaders in Constantinople with the purpose of define the nature of God for Christianity. The Council cleared up the confusion in the church by claiming the existence of Jesus Christ and giving us the idea of the Trinity.

What does all this say about the Bible and religion itself?

That is for you to decide.

In Opportvnvs Adest there is no one true God identified in the story. Yar is a being of incalculable power. He is the supreme being and creator of the Collective. In my alternate universe, Yar came to Earth 2,000 years ago in a human form with a group of his messengers or ambassadors called the Synod. And yes, there are 12 of them. Yar came to teach humans how to expand their knowledge and one day advance to the stars. During his time on Earth, he performed feats that could be considered miracles.

The Discarded One represents the devil. He achieved his name for being casted out of a realm called the Beyond where he and Yar once resided. His minions, the Degans are creatures that do many of the same things demons are supposed to do.

Everything in the Bible has happened in this alternate universe. All the key people, places, things, and events are referenced with a science fiction twist. You will know no doubt recognize them.

Now you have the backstory.

The series itself begins in 2016 and culminates in the year 2020. The story will lead to the end days for Earth and the universe. You will see the frightening events of the Book of Revelations unfold before you eyes. You will see the frustrating inevitability of Armageddon played out using events ripped from today’s headlines. There is indeed a modern Antichrist figure, Four Horsemen, a mark of the Beast, and of course, the Great War.

Do not worry though there will be plenty of surprises in store for you.

Nothing is what it seems and the lines are blurred between good and evil. Prepare yourself because in universe of Opportvnvs Adest: What you believe is false. What you know is wrong.

So where lies the truth?

Decide for yourself.

My next post will give you everything need to know for Sidereus Nuncius.

Until then, be well.

 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

